I need to stop trying to be a young, hip mom.

I need to study the date on my driver's license and get comfortable with it.

Yesterday, youngest daughter (who is 11) and I were watching TV.

She started being 11--you know...talking loud and giggling so I couldn't hear...that sort of thing.

So I thought I'd try asking her to stop in a little bit of "younger generation" lingo.

What I was going for was either:

"Knock it off...yo!"

or

"Knock it off...hello??"

But it must have come out like...

"Knock it off, Ho!"

due to her fiercely indignant (and completely merited) response of

"WHAT did you call me?!?!"

Epic. Mom. Fail.



6/28/2013 07:00:42 am

Are you off FB? I can't find you!!! Two things, Emma is reading Harry Potter. She is on the second book. Tears are welling up in my eyes as I type this. Thank you, you have forever made a difference in a beautiful child's life.
Also, I'm reading "The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks." Have you read it? It's really good, a little dry in spots but very interesting.
Third, I know I said two, how are you!?! What are your plans? How is your family? Have you moved? (I went way over.)
LOVE!!!

Reply
Renee Rasmussen
7/8/2013 10:08:10 am

Casey. Also missing you on Facebook! We'd love to hear how your family is setting in. I wanted to let you know that we just found out that we're following your family west to California. I'd love to reconnect. My email address is [email protected].

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Casey

    For now, I live in a small Midwestern community with our four children. My husband lives and works in a suburb of the second largest city in the United States.  Our lives are filled with "long distance love," "single parenting teenagers and pre-teens," "frequent flyer miles," "face time" and preparing the family for this huge unknown and terrifying transition.  
    I'm a veteran home school mom and an elementary teacher by trade. I get to combine the best of both of those worlds AND help earn my keep by working for a virtual school. 
    My favorite things in the world are a good book, a fabulous thrift store find, a solitary four-mile run, and the look in a child's eye when he realizes that c-a-t reads 'cat.' 
    Everyone likes me better when I consume coffee first thing in the morning.
     I fiercely love my faith, my family, my friends, and the Oxford comma.

    Our Story, Part 1

    Our Story, Part 2

    Archives

    May 2013
    April 2013
    March 2013